Menu Bottom

Details of Special Events at the Library


ImajineThat staff comes to storytime
Monday December 1 at 10AM





Staff from Imajine That bring education and fun with a snowy-themed Storytime. Children can learn about different kinds of houses that keep people and animals warm in cold weather. They can also make an igloo to take home.

This program is designed for children age three (3) to six (6). Please email pfalconer@hampsteadlibrary.orgor call the library 329-6411 to register in advance, up until the day of the event.


New Non-Fiction Book Group
Wed. December 3 at 1pm OR Thurs December 11 at 6:30pm



We pleased to announce the formation of a new book group for readers of non-fiction. You’ll have two choices of meeting times: the first Wednesday afternoon of the month or the second Thursday evening.

December book title to be discussed is 'A Primate's Memoir' by Robert M. Sapolsky.  In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey,  Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

For more information, email dhiett@hampsteadlibrary.orgor call 603/329-6411.

 


Holiday Bedtime Stories for Families
Thursday December 4 at 6:30pm

It’s time for Holiday Bedtime Stories at the Library. Families are invited to share favorite holiday books, sing seasonal songs, make a take-home craft, and have a bedtime snack. This is a great opportunity for families to enjoy quality time together during this hectic season. There is no need to sign-up but if you have any questions please call the library at 603/329-6411 or email pfalconer@hampsteadlibrary.org.

Don't forget to wear your pajamas!





Theater Production of "Winter Tale"
Saturday Dec 6 at 1PM

Pontine Theatre performs "A Winter Tale,” an original stage adaptation of a charming story by Maine author Sarah Orne Jewett. It is about a gruff Yankee farmer who becomes a holiday hero when he defends two great landmark pine trees against a greedy local forester.

Take a break from the holiday rush and join us for this charming performance. This production is suitable for adults and children, particularly those age six and up.

For more information, email jarden@hampsteadlibrary.orgor call 603/329-6411.







Friends' Program: Pelham Bellringers
Tuesday, December 9 at 7pm


Back by popular demand, the English Handbell Choir of the First Congregational Church of Pelham will again delight us with their selection of holiday music.

Don’t miss this wonderful beginning to the holiday season.





Movie Night: French Chef vs. Indian Chef
Thursday, December 11 at 7PM

Come to the library for free movie night!


We’ll be showing the entertaining drama based on the bestselling novel "The Hundred-Foot Journey” by Richard C. Morais. Helen Mirren stars as chef proprietress Madame Mallory. When she gets wind of an immigrant opening an Indian restaurant just 100 feet from her own, her icy protests escalate to all-out war between the two establishments. Two worlds collide when Hassan, the son of the new restaurant owner, impresses Mme. Mallory with his culinary talents and she agrees to mentor him.  Also starring Om Puri, Charlotte Le Bon, and Manish Dayal.

This movie is rated PG and is 122 minutes.








Home Front: Rationing Efforts during World War II
Tuesday December 16 at 7pm


Bill Leary will present a second historical program on the 70th anniversary of the start of the WWII Battle of the Bulge. In his "The Home Front” presentation, Leary will focus on contributions of the civilian population and how posters were used to motivate folks to conserve, ration, grow Victory Gardens, and more.
For further information email jarden@hampsteadlibrary.org or call 603/329-6411.










Holiday Craft Family Event
Sat December 20 at 9am to 11am




Families with children of all ages are invited to the Library for a Holiday Craft Workshop. Make some beautiful decorations and ornaments, read favorite seasonal books, and enjoy breakfast pastries and beverages. This program is a great opportunity for families, friends, and neighbors to slow down and spend time together. There is no need to sign-up for this event.

 If you have any questions, please call the library at 329-6411 or email pfalconer@hampstead.lib.nh.us.











Thinking about New Year's Eve Yet?
Wednesday December 31st at 7PM at Verizon Wireless Arena

Friends of the Hampstead Public Library offer a fun night for the family to ring in the New Year!  Fireworks and a hockey game between the Manchester Monarchs and the Providence Bruins at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester NH.

Order your advance tickets at the Library front desk:  $20 for adults and $16 for youth.

A portion of the ticket sales will benefit the Friends in their endeavor to enhance our library's offerings and cultural events.

For questions about the game, please contact the Monarchs directly: Brendan Doyle at 603-626-7825  or brdoyle@manchestermonarchs.com