Menu Bottom

Details of Special Events at the Library


Holiday Craft Family Event
Sat December 20 at 9am to 11am




Families with children of all ages are invited to the Library for a Holiday Craft Workshop. Make some beautiful decorations and ornaments, read favorite seasonal books, and enjoy breakfast pastries and beverages. This program is a great opportunity for families, friends, and neighbors to slow down and spend time together. There is no need to sign-up for this event.

 If you have any questions, please call the library at 329-6411 or email pfalconer@hampstead.lib.nh.us.











Thinking about New Year's Eve Yet?
Wednesday December 31st at 7PM at Verizon Wireless Arena

Friends of the Hampstead Public Library offer a fun night for the family to ring in the New Year!  Fireworks and a hockey game between the Manchester Monarchs and the St. John's IceCaps at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester NH.

Order your advance tickets at the Library front desk:  $20 for adults and $16 for youth.

A portion of the ticket sales will benefit the Friends in their endeavor to enhance our library's offerings and cultural events.

For questions about the game, please contact the Monarchs directly: Brendan Doyle at 603-626-7825  or brdoyle@manchestermonarchs.com


New Non-Fiction Book Group
Wed. January 7 at 1pm and Thursday Jan 8 at 6:30 pm


Our new book group for readers of non-fiction continues in January. You’ll have two choices of meeting times: Wed. January 7 at 1pm and Thursday January 8 at 6:30 pm.

In January we will again have an opportunity to discuss 'A Primate's Memoir' by Robert M. Sapolsky.  In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey,  Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

For more information click over to our book groups' page, or call 603/329-6411.

 


January Friends' Program: Laugh Therapy
Tuesday, January 13, 2015 at 7pm


After the stress of the holidays, we need to find ways to relax. Richard Mullen, certified laugh therapist, will entertain and inform us about how to put life in perspective and look on the bright side.








"BYOD" - Bring Your Own Device Tech Tutoring Session
Wednesday Jan 14 from 4-5:30PM

The Library is having an open Tech Tutoring session so bring your own device (laptop, tablet, smart phone, etc.) or borrow one of the library’s devices. Bring your questions and we’ll do our best to provide the answers.

We will also have a list of helpful websites, and have helpful books available to check out.


 

For more information, contact Tech Librarian Kate Thomas at 603-329-6411 or kthomas@hampstead.lib.nh.us.